Tax time.

Zim^zuM

Vice Captain
AFL Club
Bulldogs
Anyone here an accountant.

Reason I ask is looking at my return last year i paid $1700 in a medicare levy. I have private health and in my assesment it saud I am not liable for the levy yet was slugged the $1700. Would anyone have any insight as to why??

Same happened to my wife who was slugged $800

jaca

Vice Captain
AFL Club
Sydney
I *think* you may be confusing the Medicare Levy and the Medicare Levy Surcharge.

Medicare Levy Surcharge is the one you avoid with PH cover. Medicare Levy everyone pays on their taxable income.

quite ironic

100 Games Club
AFL Club
Port Adelaide
Yeah I’m an accountant actually.

Medicare levy is 2% tax on your taxable income, payable for all individuals.

Medicare levy surcharge is for people who don’t have PHI. Applicable for individuals once your rebateable income is >$90,000 or $180,000 combined for couples.

Zim^zuM

Vice Captain
AFL Club
Bulldogs
Thanks for the reply. Care to get into a bit more detail if possible?

Some brief facts is we do have private health. Im more asking for last year as this year i know we will be well above the 180.

Last year though i was just under 90k have private health and was charged 1700. The missus figures are then half in all areas. Half the wage charged half my levy. My question is if we earnt under the 90k single and 180k couple mark why were we both still charged the 2%
And why in the analysis of the return does it say we both arent liable to pay the levy but charged 2%

Thanks in advance :)

quite ironic

100 Games Club
AFL Club
Port Adelaide
Thanks for the reply. Care to get into a bit more detail if possible?

Some brief facts is we do have private health. Im more asking for last year as this year i know we will be well above the 180.